Skip to Main Content

Quorum Court

More >

Cross County
Quorum Court Members


JP Amy Imboden
Amy Imboden
District 1
424 N. Hwy 49
Hickory Ridge, AR 72347

JP District 1 Map

Photo of JP John Kyle Wilson
John (Kyle) Wilson
District 2
498 CR 333
Cherry Valley, AR 72324

JP District 2 Map

Photo of JP Anthony Jarrett
Anthony Jarrett
District 3
22 CR 382
Wynne, AR 72396

JP District 3 Map




Photo of JP Glenda Vance
Glenda Vance
District 4
77 CR 7910
Colt, AR 72326

JP District 4 Map

Photo ofJP Gloria Aldridge
Gloria Ferguson Aldridge
District 5
1046 Martin Luther King Dr
Wynne, AR 72396

JP District 5 Map

Photo of JP Kevin Jumper
Kevin Jumper
District 6
PO Box 556
Wynne, AR 72396

District 6 Map



Photo of JP Carl Loewer
Carl Loewer
District 7
2 Galway Dr
Wynne, AR 72396

JP District 7 Map 

JP Jerry Rushing
Jerry Rushing
District 8
110 CR 727
Wynne, AR 72396 

JP District 8 Map 

Photo of JP Scott May
Scott May 
District 9
4680 Hwy 64
Parkin, AR 72373

JP District 9 Map

  2023-2024 QUORUM COURT
BUDGET: Scott May, Chair
Anthony Jarrett
Kevin Jumper

ROAD: Jerry Rushing, Chair
Gloria Aldridge
Anthony Jarrett

BUILDING: Carl Loewer, Chair
Jerry Rushing
John (Kyle) Wilson

PERSONNEL: Glenda Vance, Chair
Amy Imboden
John (Kyle) Wilson

Organization and Authority of the Court

The legislative body of county government in Arkansas is the quorum court. Each court is composed of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. Cross County has 9 members that are called justices of the peace. They are elected for 2-year terms from districts within the county. The Court meets each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The Cross County Quorum Court’s regular meeting time is 6:00 P.M. on the third Monday of each month at the Cross County Courthouse. The county judge, the presiding officer of the quorum court has no vote, but does have the power of veto. A veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

Powers of the Court

As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislative authority, not expressly prohibited by the constitution or by law, for the affairs of the county. (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to:

  1. Levy taxes in a manner prescribed by law;
  2. Appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance;
  3. Preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony;
  4. Contract or join, for any public purpose, with another county or any political subdivision or the United States;
  5. Create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action;
  6. Fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees;
  7. Fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law;
  8. Fill vacancies in elected county offices;
  9. Provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs;
  10. Exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and function (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

Limitations of the Court

  1. The quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code)
  2. The quorum court may exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (A.C.A. 14-14-806).