Cross County, Arkansas  
Cross County, Arkansas
Cross County, Arkansas
Quorum Court

Cross County
Quorum Court Members


Doug Kennon Ricky Lace Lynn Blake
Doug Kennon
District 1
Ricky Lace
District 2
Lynn Blake
District 3
449 Hwy 49
McCrory, AR 72101
(Cell) 870-588-5715
3280 Hwy 42
Cherry Valley, AR 72324
(Cell) 870-588-6888
22 CR 382
Wynne, AR 72396
(Home) 870-238-3330
(Cell) 870-208-5301


Donna Willis  Bedford Tuberville  Kevin Jumper
Donna Willis
District 4
Bedford Tuberville
District 5
Kevin Jumper
District 6
7 CR 6530
Wynne, AR 72396
(Cell) 870-208-6601
719 "J" St
Wynne, AR 72396
(Home) 870-238-9056
(Cell) 870-318-0088
520 E Cogbill
Wynne, AR 72396
(Cell) 870-261-3558


Sharon Lawson  Jerry Brewster  James Davis 
 Sharon Lawson
District 7
Jerry Brewster
District 8
James Davis
District 9
2003 Airpark Rd
Wynne, AR 72396
(Home) 870-238-9123
206 Maple Dr
Wynne, AR 72396 
(Cell) 870-318-5361
147 CR 427
Parkin, AR 72373
(Home) 870-755-5604 
(Cell) 870-208-3615



Organization and Authority of the Court

The legislative body of county government in Arkansas is the quorum court. Each court is composed of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. Cross County has 9 members that are called justices of the peace. They are elected for 2-year terms from districts within the county. The Court meets each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The Cross County Quorum Court’s regular meeting time is 6:00 P.M. on the third Monday of each month at the Cross County Courthouse. The county judge, the presiding officer of the quorum court has no vote, but has the power of veto. A veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

Powers of the Court

As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislative authority, not expressly prohibited by the constitution or by law, for the affairs of the county. (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to:

  1. Levy taxes in a manner prescribed by law;
  2. Appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance;
  3. Preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony;
  4. Contract or join, for any public purpose, with another county or any political subdivision or the United States;
  5. Create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action;
  6. Fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees;
  7. Fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law;
  8. Fill vacancies in elected county offices;
  9. Provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs;
  10. Exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and function (A.C.A. 14-14-801).

Limitations of the Court

  1. The quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code)
  2. The quorum court may exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (A.C.A. 14-14-806).
Wynne Friends
of Animals
An organization helping stray dogs/cats find homes.
Learn More About Wynne Friends of Animals
Cross County Sheriff
Serving and protecting
Cross County, Arkansas.

Learn More About The Cross County Sheriff
Cross County Chamber of Commerce
Our citizens are the most important aspect of our area.
Learn More About The Cross County Chamber of Commerce
Cross County, Arkansas  
705 East Union St. • Wynne, AR 72396-3039
Fax 870-238-5752 • 870-238-5750